skip to main content

Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Medical Services is a system that provides emergency medical care.

Heartland Community College and the McLean County Area Emergency Medical Services have teamed up to offer Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) courses. Whether you want to acquire the EMT Basic certification or continue on and obtain the EMT Paramedic certification, Heartland and the MCAEMS have the courses that you need.

EMT courses will be offered every fall and spring semester both as a day class and as a night class. The Paramedic course will be offered every fall beginning in 2018.

For questions about becoming an EMT or Paramedic, or the courses, contact Derek Foley, EMS Education Coordinator for MCAEMS, at 309-827-4348 or dfoley@mcleancountyems.org or contact Travis Wilson, EMS System Manager for MCAEMS, at 309-827-4348 or twilson@mcleancountyems.org.

We invite you to learn more about the Emergency Medical Services Program.

  • We strongly recommend you attend one of these informational sessions. All information meetings are held at the main campus in Normal, IL, unless otherwise noted.

    Day Time Room

    Beginning May 1, 2020, and until further notice, informational meetings will be held virtually utilizing ZOOM.  Please continue to check this site for dates and additional information.

    Wednesday, January 20, 2021

    5 pm

    Please contact the program coordinator listed below to request the ZOOM link for the meeting that you would like to attend.

    TBD

    Please contact the program coordinator listed below to request the ZOOM link for the meeting that you would like to attend.

    TBD

    Please contact the program coordinator listed below to request the ZOOM link for the meeting that you would like to attend.

    TBD

    Please contact the program coordinator listed below to request the ZOOM link for the meeting that you would like to attend.

    Please contact the following program coordinator and request the ZOOM link for the meeting that you would like to attend:

    EMT/Paramedic - Please contact Travis Wilson at twilson@mcleancountyems.org

    Medical Assistant - Please contact Martha Stearns at martha.stearns@heartland.edu

    Nursing - Please contact Tara Morris at tara.morris@heartland.edu

    Physical Therapist Assistant - Please contact Daryl Menke at daryl.menke@heartland.edu

    Radiography - Please contact Jo Gramley at joan.gramley@heartland.edu

    Work Ready Programs* - Please contact Kelly Pyle at kelly.pyle@heartland.edu

    * Work Ready Programs currently consist of Pharmacy Technician, Dental Assistant, Phlebotomy, and Veterinary Assistant.

Emergency Medical Services Video

Emergency Medical Services Video

Video Transcription: Emergency Medical Services Video Transcription (PDF)