skip to main content
Heartland mobile logo

Heartland Students Named 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars

August 10, 2018

Heartland students Katy Bachman and Shea Boston have been named Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Bachman and Boston are in a group of only 207 Phi Theta Kappa members named a 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar and will each receive a $1,000 scholarship.

“Katy and Shea are to be commended for their outstanding achievements,” said Sarah Diel-Hunt, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at Heartland. “Having not one, but two students receive this prestigious award is a reflection of the hard work of our Phi Theta Kappa chapter to provide students with opportunities for scholarship, community service and leadership development.”

The Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs. Scholars are also encouraged to assume leadership roles by participating in Society programs and are selected based on scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential. More than 1,200 applications were received.

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, Executive Vice President and President-Elect of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa, make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals, and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. Learn more at

Written by: Steve Fast