skip to main content
Heartland mobile logo

Board of Trustees seats two new members

April 30, 2019

Two new members have joined the District 540 Board of Trustees that governs Heartland Community College.

Thomas Whitt and Nicci Van Dyke were seated as Board members during the group's April 30 meeting.

Thomas Whitt of Bloomington was elected to a six-year term on the Board of Trustees in the April 2 election.

A graduate of Michigan State University with a B.A. in Political Science and also earned an Associate's Degree in Radiologic Technology from Lake Michigan College, He is a CT Technologist at OSF St. Joseph Hospital.

Whitt ran unopposed for a seat that was vacated by Pat Hardesty, who opted to pursue an open two-year term on the Board. Hardesty was elected to the two-year seat.

Nicci Van Dyke was selected to serve as Student Trustee in the March 27 Heartland Student Government Association elections. Van Dyke is completing her first year at Heartland and also plays for the Hawks Softball team.

The Board also re-elected the positions of Chair (Gregg Chadwick), Vice-Chair (Jeff Flessner) and Secretary (Becky Ropp).

Written by: Steve Fast